I was asked this by a small child who happened to be playing the game while sat next to me with their parents on the large oak coffee table that occupied the centre of the shop, it was quite the surprise.

After a glance at the parents with a smile I looked toward the child and answered “An Eevee or a Magikarp.”.

Of course she didn’t ask why, instead smiled and told me about the one she chose, it was a Rowlet.

Now considering I’m old and a classic Gen 1 player I had no idea what it was, so I just went with it and acted interested, turns out it’s some kind of flying grass owl, which is pretty cool to be fair.

After the conversation died and the child had gone back to playing the game I sat pondering my two choices and why they sprung to mind, the answers are quite simple in all honest. An Eevee has so much potential and differing paths to take, as for the Magikarp though, they are just resilient and eventually after their struggle get to evolve in to something pretty cool showing that even if you don’t start off the best you can work your way towards something pretty impressive and worthy of respect.

What would your starter Pokemon be?